The 2020 Opera Canada Award honourees are:

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor; Music Director, Metropolitan Opera

Barbara Hannigan, soprano & conductor

Michael Schade, tenor

Edward Johnson, tenor; former General Manager, Metropolitan Opera

Barbara Hannigan’s award is generously underwritten by Marjorie and Roy Linden

Edward Johnson’s award is generously underwritten by Stephen Clarke and The Stratton Trust

Awards Performers

Russell Braun, baritone and Rihab Chaieb, mezzo-soprano, accompanied by pianists Carolyn Maule & Topher Mokrzewski

Awards Performers

Matthew Cairns, tenor and Midori Marsh, soprano, accompanied by pianist Alex Soloway

The appearances of Midori Marsh, Alex Solloway, Carolyn Maule and Topher Mokrzewski are generously sponsored by Pamela Austin.

The appearance of Russell Braun is generously sponsored by Earlaine Collins.

The appearance of Rihab Chaieb is generously sponsored by Kris Vikmanis and Denny Creighton.

The appearance of Matthew Cairns and Joyce El-Khoury is generously sponsored by Stephen Clarke and The Stratton Trust.


2020 Opera Canada Awards

The 2020 Opera Canada Awards are going VIRTUAL on

November 23rd, 2020 on Youtube Premiere

8:00 pm EST
Stay tuned for further viewing details!

For more information, contact or

About the Opera Canada Awards Committee

The Opera Canada Awards Committee is composed of both representatives of Opera Canada magazine and leading opera professionals from across Canada.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial